GDR Forum Index
Podcast Podcast
Dev Dev Logs
Search Search
RSS RSS
Register Register
Log in Log in
Reply to topic GDR Forum Index -> Game Developer's Refuge -> Development Log - a pixel editor thing Page Previous  1, 2, 3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PoV
Moderator

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 10782
Location: Canadia
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's strange. JavaScript already has weird scope (function level), but I would have thought the variables would be considered part of the containing functions scope.

I run Linux (though I jump between many machines), but I forgot to check it back when you said it wasn't working.
_________________
Mike Kasprzak
'eh whatever. I used to make AAA and Indie games | Ludum Dare | Blog | Tweetar
View user's profile Send private message
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yea, that's why I'm having a hard time believing it's the issue, but that's the only thing that appears to make a difference based on everything checked so far.
The person helping me debug is running Arch linux.
I haven't updated the main site http://www.pixel.tools/
so that shouldn't work on linux unless it is some isolated case dependent upon his machine/setup/etc..
And the current semi-working version is located at http://www.alexhw.com/pixeledit/
If you or anyone else running linux wants to check those to see if drawing to the canvas works, might be interesting to know if it does or not for either page (using firefox or midori).
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PoV
Moderator

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 10782
Location: Canadia
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right, something is up with Firefox. I can get maybe 3 control points drawn before painting stops working. The other build is the same.

Debugging is tame. I can't find anything in the log, not even an error.


Interestingly, I can pan the canvas with Spacebar juts fine.

EDIT: No that's not entirely correctly. Spacebar scrolls infinitely inside the box after using the pencil tool, rather than shifting the box around.

It feels like there's an error somewhere, but firefox refuses to say anything.


For some reason I'm blocked from pressing F12 to open the debugger.

Selection tools work fine, it's only after painting do things die.
_________________
Mike Kasprzak
'eh whatever. I used to make AAA and Indie games | Ludum Dare | Blog | Tweetar


Edited by PoV on Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:31 pm; edited 1 time
View user's profile Send private message
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow, cool.. thanks for checking that. I have a suspicion that the loops work fine if they're in separate functions, but if there are multiple foreach loops using the same name in the same function then those don't work..
At least now I can make necessary adjustments elsewhere in the files.
PoV, do you think this requires any further looking into if these changes essentially fix things?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PoV
Moderator

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 10782
Location: Canadia
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They don't though. Both builds have the same problem.
_________________
Mike Kasprzak
'eh whatever. I used to make AAA and Indie games | Ludum Dare | Blog | Tweetar
View user's profile Send private message
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh okay, I read that wrong.. I thought you said it was working..
hmm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PoV
Moderator

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 10782
Location: Canadia
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah sorry about that. I could have been more clear.
_________________
Mike Kasprzak
'eh whatever. I used to make AAA and Indie games | Ludum Dare | Blog | Tweetar
View user's profile Send private message
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I'm going to pull out my old computer and see if I can get it running with some linux.. I've never used linux before.. Maybe I'll try ubuntu.. Hopefully it will reproduce these issues and I can just hack away at it until something makes sense..
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PoV
Moderator

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 10782
Location: Canadia
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you've got the hard drive space (50 GB or so), install a VM. Either VMWare Player or VirtualBox. Both free. Way better than dual booting (and easier). Should be fairly straightforward to get Ubuntu on that.
_________________
Mike Kasprzak
'eh whatever. I used to make AAA and Indie games | Ludum Dare | Blog | Tweetar
View user's profile Send private message
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm.. not too familiar with a virtual machine. I started looking at how to do that.. Is it pretty safe? It won't screw up my laptop if I try to make one right?.. I'm not that knowledgeable about operating systems and things like that. It looks like a VM is basically just some files that get run on your computer, like any other type of software, and if you want to remove it you just delete the files.. Is that an accurate assessment?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PoV
Moderator

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 10782
Location: Canadia
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. There's usually a monolithic file that is the virtual file system for the VM. Nothing special about it, other than its size. Deleting it makes it go away. Clean. You can even copy it to another computer and run the VM, and the VM itself is none the wiser.
_________________
Mike Kasprzak
'eh whatever. I used to make AAA and Indie games | Ludum Dare | Blog | Tweetar
View user's profile Send private message
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds too good to be true.. I guess I'll look into this VM stuff..
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I used virtualbox to create a virtual machine that runs linux ubuntu, and I get the same bug when I try drawing.. The virtual machine runs slow though and the screen resolution is small.. I need to figure out how to make the resolution bigger.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
0xDB
Developer

Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 1651
Location: Your consciousness.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex wrote:
Okay, I used virtualbox to create a virtual machine that runs linux ubuntu, and I get the same bug when I try drawing.. The virtual machine runs slow though and the screen resolution is small.. I need to figure out how to make the resolution bigger.
In Oracle VirtualBox with the so called "Guest Additions" installed, increasing the resolution is as easy as maximizing the window it is running in.
_________________
0xDB
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks.. yea, that was what I needed.

So, I fixed the bug....!!

the issue was..
Code:

ctx.setLineDash([0]);

needs to be the following
Code:

ctx.setLineDash([]);

Those of you who have linux can go to http://www.pixel.tools/ and it should now work, allowing you to draw to the canvas, etc.. I also fixed something with the colordex that wasn't functioning right on linux.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't had any time to work on this editor in a while, since I need to do other stuff to try and make money.
I'm wondering if I should put this on Github and allow others to contribute to the project. Maybe there might be more interest in it then.
I have a donate button on the editor site, but I've only received one donation since the opening of the site. So.. yea..
maybe it makes more sense to just let others mess with it if they want if that will help generate interest..
your thoughts?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gil
Developer

Joined: 14 Nov 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Belgium
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex wrote:
your thoughts?
All I can say is that the last year I dove into open source and Github and I *LOVE* it. The fact that I can just take any project I like, but that's abandoned, and just fork it and do my own stuff to it, is integral to that.

Plan for abandonment, that's my largest reason to suggest open source to people. If at any point in the future, you don't feel like working on it anymore, but there's still people that want your project, they'll continue it. You're creating something with an infinite lifecycle as opposed to something with the lifecycle of your own personal whims.
_________________
PoV: I had to wear pants today. Fo shame!
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
0xDB
Developer

Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 1651
Location: Your consciousness.
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex wrote:
I haven't had any time to work on this editor in a while, since I need to do other stuff to try and make money.
I'm wondering if I should put this on Github and allow others to contribute to the project. Maybe there might be more interest in it then.
I have a donate button on the editor site, but I've only received one donation since the opening of the site. So.. yea..
maybe it makes more sense to just let others mess with it if they want if that will help generate interest..
your thoughts?
It is my observation that donations simply do not work (unless maybe one is providing something which is of use(in an essential/non optional way) to a very large number of people(people with money(as in not fellow starving artists)) instead of just for a handful of highly skilled specialists). Another observation is that often when I do something, I am one of very few people who think of that as interesting and even then, most of the time, the "others" are usually all too busy with their own projects(and I do not blame anyone, it is just a fact). :)

One thing that is supposed to work is to love what you do regardless so you will always feel rewarded even if you do not get paid or recognized (I wonder if that is ever really going to work though... it probably is not working out for everyone who is starving on this planet right now).
_________________
0xDB
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the insights! You two have made me more open to open sourcing my editor.
Makes sense to do it if it's just going to sit around anyways- open sourcing it doesn't necessarily mean others will feel like working with it, but when someone does, it can be available in a timely manner. I'm sure I can learn something too if that is ever to happen, because I'm sure a lot can be improved with it.

Yeah, Dennis, I tend to notice similar things with what interests people. It's difficult getting people's attention when it's so easy for everyone to have their heads down in their own stuff. It's cool though, because there's a lot of interesting stuff- or that people can be so interested..
I can make countless theories about it, but I'd most likely only be entertaining myself :P
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alex
Developer

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I finally got around to uploading it to Github for those who keep asking.
https://github.com/prominentdetail/Pixel.Tools
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Reply to topic GDR Forum Index -> Game Developer's Refuge -> Development Log - a pixel editor thing Page Previous  1, 2, 3
Game Developer's Refuge
is proudly hosted by,

HostGator

All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective owners. All comments owned by their respective posters.
phpBB code © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group. Other message board code © Kevin Reems.