GDR Forum Index
Podcast Podcast
Dev Dev Logs
Search Search
RSS RSS
Register Register
Log in Log in
Reply to topic GDR Forum Index -> Game Developer's Refuge -> Development Log - Adventure in Rulon Page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sirocco
Moderator

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 9434
Location: Not Finland
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

People can shit on your code all day long... but no one can shit on someone who gets things done ;)
_________________
NoOP / Reyn Time -- The $ is screwing everyone these days. (0xDB)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PoV
Moderator

Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 10837
Location: Canadia
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sirocco wrote:
but no one can shit on someone who gets things done ;)

Oh they can, but it just proves they're full of shit. ;)


Yeah, give streaming a try. It's not the by-all and end-all answer, but sometimes good things happen. What were you going to use all that bandwidth for anyway? ;)

There's something to be said for the watchful eye of others. Even if nobody is watching, the fear of someone catching you slacking is real. ;)

I would do it more myself if I wasn't doing stuff that risks broadcasting my passwords to the world (web and server stuff). I also ... have a few too many "opinionated" people that follow me, and given my real deadlines it could be distracting.
_________________
Mike Kasprzak
'eh whatever. I used to make AAA and Indie games | Ludum Dare | Blog | Tweetar
View user's profile Send private message
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mojo's back.

Still might stream anyway, though. The more I think about it, the more scaryfun it sounds.
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
sonrisu
Moderator

Joined: 31 Aug 2005
Posts: 4985
Location: Silicon Valley!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stream it! I have thought about doing this myself, actually. :]
_________________
loomsoft :]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today at my Day Job, I set up a VM on my work computer and put Ubuntu MATE and my dev environment on it, so I can code whenever I have any free time. I usually just browse Reddit or YouTube whenever there's a lull at work; it'll be nice to put that time to actual use instead.
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got flood fill implemented in the map editor. It's a whopping seven lines of code, four of which are recursive calls to itself. Thanks, Wikipedia!

EDIT: Stack overflow! That'll teach me. New version's still pretty compact, though.
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Niunio Martinez
Member

Joined: 26 Nov 2013
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AdmiralTofu wrote:
EDIT: Stack overflow!
I didn't saw one of that errors for a long long time. What the hell did you do? Just curious.
_________________
Under redaction...
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niunio Martinez wrote:
AdmiralTofu wrote:
EDIT: Stack overflow!
I didn't saw one of that errors for a long long time. What the hell did you do? Just curious.


My map editor's flood fill algorithm used the first implementation shown in this article: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flood_fill. It recursively calls itself until there's nothing left to fill. It worked just fine... for small areas. When I tried to test it out on something much larger (the ocean on my world map), the obvious happened.
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Niunio Martinez
Member

Joined: 26 Nov 2013
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that algorithm isn't the best. I did implement a flood-fill a lot of time ago. Instead of go "pixel per pixel" I did horizontal runs. I mean, from the seed "pixel" I search the left and right limits. Then I fill the line and start two loops: one for the "pixels" above and another for the "pixels" below (actually you can do that in just one loop, though), and call recursively only if the new seed is "empty". That subroutine was able to fill quite big and complex areas IIRC.

Also may be you can fix this by using a non-recursive algorithm, managing your own stack.
_________________
Under redaction...
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niunio Martinez wrote:
Yes, that algorithm isn't the best. I did implement a flood-fill a lot of time ago. Instead of go "pixel per pixel" I did horizontal runs. I mean, from the seed "pixel" I search the left and right limits. Then I fill the line and start two loops: one for the "pixels" above and another for the "pixels" below (actually you can do that in just one loop, though), and call recursively only if the new seed is "empty". That subroutine was able to fill quite big and complex areas IIRC.

Also may be you can fix this by using a non-recursive algorithm, managing your own stack.


Yeah, I wound up going with a non-recursive version that pushes any adjacent valid pixels into a queue, and runs through the queue until it's empty. (It's actually the second implementation listed on that Wikipedia article). I could have optimized it, but it's only for the map editor and works just fine even on huge expanses of map area. I'm just happy it doesn't crash.

That was embarrassing. lol
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2016 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally updated my work log (an extension of my TODO list that, ideally, I should be updating every week with what I've accomplished the past seven days). It now has an entry marked 9/19 - 12/18/16.

That's embarrassing. Glad I'm back in the groove at least.
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working on the scripting system finally! All in all, a very productive week so far, and I still have tomorrow to go. The scripting stuff is going to occupy my entire weekend, so my work log for the week is complete outside of that.



Most of this week was spent working on under-the-hood stuff in the field module, as well as getting scrolling text windows working (the last piece I needed to get in place before I could start on scripting support).
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tux helping me code!



This past week, aside from working on the new, fun, shiny Acronia, I've also been working on shared code for both games that will make the map editor even less necessary. My goal is to make laying out maps in Photoshop and plain-text files very easy, with the in-game editor only necessary for detail stuff like adding actors or edge tiles.

And even then, not strictly necessary -- just easier.

Updates soon.
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Sirocco
Moderator

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 9434
Location: Not Finland
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your keyboard does not have OS keys. I like that. I like that a lot :)
_________________
NoOP / Reyn Time -- The $ is screwing everyone these days. (0xDB)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sirocco wrote:
Your keyboard does not have OS keys. I like that. I like that a lot :)

Thanks! Although, I must admit, eventually I plan on getting a 103-key Unicomp Model M. :) Gonna order Tux keycaps in place of the Windows key.

The keyboard in the picture has been my daily driver for about a month now; I found it in the basement of the place where I work. It worked just fine (with an AT to PS/2 adapter, daisy-chained to a PS/2 to USB adapter), so I decided to restore it. Took it completely apart, cleaned it out on the inside, washed each keycap individually, and then Retr0brighted the entire thing. I'm very happy with it. It's not mechanical (it's slider-over-rubber-dome), but it's still a lot nicer than squishy modern 'boards, so I like it :)

I'm mildly obsessed with keyboards recently...
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I failed on updates, but I have been working.

I created a scripting language; it's called HadroC. I probably won't use it for AI (just cutscenes), but the capacity is there if I change my mind. I got bit by Not Invented Here syndrome, or else I'd have just used Lua or something else. But it was a fun two months. Learned quite a bit. Wrote some very bad code, nuked it, re-wrote it slightly less badly, rinsed, repeated. :)

I'd say half of the development time on the thing was spent writing the specs and documentation for the language and its built-in functions, just as an aid to help myself wrap my head around what I was trying to accomplish. As a result, I have a nice tidy little manual that I'm going include as a PDF file with the game so that people can mod it themselves if they wish.

I also modularized the engine. There are now about 23,000 lines of code that are strictly framework stuff (no game-specific code) and can be included by any project. Previously, I had to maintain separate copies of all that stuff for each project. This will be very helpful when I resume work on Acronia soon-ish. Before, I couldn't imagine working on two projects at once. Now it actually seems simple -- just designate certain days for one project, and the rest for the other. No worrying about, "Shit, I changed this code in this game, I have to merge it with the other project." If I find myself thinking that, then it's a sign I should consider moving that entire class/function/what-have-you into the general framework anyway.
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
AdmiralTofu
Contributor

Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 191
Location: Millville, NJ
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Switching out party members mid-battle.



I finally got a 1080p monitor. So now I'm running dual displays at 1280x1024 and 1920x1080, whereas before it was two 1280x1024s.

The cool part? I can -- for the first time ever -- actually play my game at the full resolution it's designed at.

and also screenshots
_________________
Dev log - Adventure in Rulon
Dev log - Acronia

---
Twitter - @HadroSoft
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Reply to topic GDR Forum Index -> Game Developer's Refuge -> Development Log - Adventure in Rulon Page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Game Developer's Refuge
is proudly hosted by,

HostGator

All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective owners. All comments owned by their respective posters.
phpBB code © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group. Other message board code © Kevin Reems.