GDR Forum Index
Podcast Podcast
Dev Dev Logs
Search Search
RSS RSS
Register Register
Reply to topic GDR Forum Index -> Game Developer's Refuge -> Development Log - 3DGamestudio in C#
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gil
Developer

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 5:41 pm    Post subject: Development Log - 3DGamestudio in C# Reply with quote

http://www.3dgamestudio.com/

3DGamestudio is basically a full 3D engine with some added tools to create worlds, etc. I have some experience with it and because I'm a bit masochistic (there are probably other better engines for me to fool around with), I'm writing a C# version of the SDK.

Basically, I'm writing a class library that talks with the unmanaged DLL. This class library consists of a few parts:

A layer that talks with the DLL and handles memory
A layer of OO that wraps the first layer into an OO representation

The first layer is a bunch of [DLLImport()] methods. Added to it is a memory handling portion. Basically, when using certain methods, you need to pass pointers to the DLL. The DLL might store those pointers and change them later, so using the "fixed" keyword to make sure the garbage collector doesn't invalidate them would be very clunky, as it would turn the whole class library, even the OO part into unsafe code. What I do is allocate some memory myself through marshaling, and provide a class that keeps the pointer to that and a managed (GCed) copy. When changing the copy, the class also changes the real version and the pointer and backwards.

My goal was to keep instances of these classes away from the user as much as possible, since they more than double the memory needed, but I'm now leaning towards at least giving the user access to them, for advanced use.

It's a bit of a crazy project, but I love working on it :)

I can only release screenshots of examples due to licensing, but I'll try to give a simple example later :)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote